HRDF has come up with the implementation guideline for online learning. The purpose of the guideline is to inform stakeholders, like yourselves on the schemes available under HRDF that support online learning.

It covers, among others the following topics:

  • Types of Online Learning
  • Types of Support Facilities and Equipment
  • Requirements for Live Online Training Delivery

Generally, there are 3 categories of Online Learning defined by HRDF, i.e.

  • E-Learning (Full e-Learning & Blended e-learning / Hybrid)
  • Mobile Learning
  • Remote Learning
E-Learning is a learning method using electronic technologies to access training curriculum outside of a physical classroom. In most cases, it refers to a course or programme delivered completely online.
  1. Full e-Learning (or by Subscription) is Self-learning under this mode of e-learning, trainees are offered with a wide range of training programmes in various packages, depending on the total number of training programmes required.
  2. Blended e-learning / Hybrid is Combination of classroom e-learning through Local Area Network (LAN) and full e-learning through Wide Area Network (WAN). For example, the trainees may exchange ideas about course activities or contribute to group learning by sharing their knowledge.

Mobile Learning is Mobile learning focuses on the usage of mobile apps via devices such as smartphones, tablets and notebooks which allow learners to consume their learning and training at their own pace.

Remote Learning, on the other hand will replace the physical classroom setting via video conferencing applications, such as Microsoft Teams, Zoom, Google Hangout and Cisco Webex Meetings.

Download Guidelines